Community Fora were established across the country as a result of the formation of County/City Development Boards (CDBs), which came about on the recommendation of the Task Force, chaired by Noel Dempsey T.D., the then Minister for the Environment and Local Government in 2000.

A total of thirty-four County or City Development Boards (CDBs) were established throughout Ireland in response to the need to facilitate the co-ordination of services at the point of delivery and “to address the challenge of local service integration at the County and City level”.

Each City or County Forum is independent and formulates its own structures, constitution, standing orders etc. In Meath these structures have, to date, been based on the existing electoral divisions of Meath County Council.